Paul Steane's Photography Pages

1538/4112
Home /

Grimsargh

20150523_150247.jpg GrimsarghThumbnailsGrimsarghGrimsarghThumbnailsGrimsarghGrimsarghThumbnailsGrimsarghGrimsarghThumbnailsGrimsarghGrimsarghThumbnailsGrimsarghGrimsarghThumbnailsGrimsarghGrimsarghThumbnailsGrimsargh

The footpath runs roughly along the route of the Preston & Longridge Railway, looking towards Longridge; it opened in 1840 and closed to all traffic here in 1967. To the right is the rear of the garden of the Plough Inn. Heading off to the left, past the large tree and to the right of Dixon's Farm (visible in the distance) was the course of the Whittingham Hospital Railway, which operated from 1884 to 1957. See separate photo gallery for more information on this fascinating line.